Wild Blackberry Buckle

 

One of the many covered bridges in Parke County, Indiana
 
So, I was in Indiana for a few days, hence, no posts for a week. One of the things I love about visiting the Hoosier state, is all of the down home cooking and baked treats. Pumpkin buckle is one of those recipes that I hold dear to me. This was given to me by a wonderful friend, so I altered it slightly to accompany blackberries instead of pumpkin (although I will bake a pumpkin buckle come Thanksgiving time).

 

Our latest haul of blackberries
 
So what is a buckle you ask? Well, it is an egg free, delicious fruity bake. The bottom layer consists of a batter onto which your fruit layer is spread on top. As it bakes, the bottom layer rises and “buckles” a bit over the fruit. This is perfect for the times when you kinda want pie, but don’t have a pie crust or don’t feel like making some dough. Here is what you’ll need:

 

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup milk
  •  2 cups blackberries
  • 2 tablespoons sugar

Preheat your oven to 350 C / 180 F. Grease a rectangle or square baking pan; I used my standard size lasagne dish. Next, melt the butter. As I don’t have a microwave, I just popped it in the oven while my fish and chips were baking.

As that is melting, in a large bowl, mix together the cup of sugar, flour, baking powder, and salt.

 

Next, add the milk and liquified butter, and mix until very smooth.

 

Pour the batter into the baking dish, making sure it covers the entire bottom.

 Next, you will rinse your berries very well and pat them dry with a paper or kitchen towel.  Then add them on top of the batter, spreading them out as much as possible.

 

Lastly, sprinkle the 2 tablespoons of sugar over the top. This will create a nice crispy layer while baking.

 Place into the oven for 45-50 minutes. As it bakes, it will brown and the batter will rise and buckle on the sides.

  

And that’s it! Baking a wild blackberry buckle is the perfect dish to take to a late summer cook out or a day at the seaside.  You can also just bake it for your own delight and it works well with peaches, cherries, blueberries …. just about any kind of fruit really. It is best served warm with custard, ice cream, or a swirl of whipped cream on top. 

I plan on enjoying this treat for the next few days as it’s rainy and overcast here in Bristol. As the blackberry bushes that I frequent are starting to become bare, I am planning some yummy fall goodies to enjoy  within the next few weeks. In closing, have your umbrella handy, thanks for reading, and Happy Eating!

    

Leave a comment